Responses!!! Sweet and Beautiful Responses!

So the responses to The Harvest are slowly rolling in!

One beta is super excited and wants to read more. I’ll send her the next hundred pages! She said she usually doesn’t like fantasy (she’s the one that introduced me to Ellen Hopkins), but she’s interested in my story.

The other beta is my mom XD. She said she got confused in a few sections, but ultimately likes it and says I’ve improved since my last failed attempt in high school. I freaking hope so!

Anyways, I asked my mom to let me know where exactly she got confused so I can figure out how to fix it. She said she will. I’m definitely going to send her the next hundred pages as well, because my moms a quick reader.

Now the cool thing is that there is over forty years difference between both readers, which I think is important. Maybe someone younger wouldn’t have a problem reading my book, but someone older might.

And lets not say older people won’t read YA. Most YA authors are older lol. Maybe not as old as my mom, but that’s not the point. I want to know that whoever reads it can follow along.

Anyways, I’m going to wait for the responses from the last three before I make a decision on reaching out to an editor. They’re incredibly crucial too. Two went to college with me and know what to look for in writing.

1.) World building

2.) Character development

3.)  Plot

4.) Structure

5.) Pace

I could go on and on.

I know the character development will be hard to tell in the first fifty pages, but once I send out more, then I’ll know.

The last beta is my boyfriend who actually doesn’t like to read anything except music and NFL news. So if he can at least make it through the first fifty pages I think I’ll be set!

BUT based on the responses from my first two betas, I think it would be helpful to get a professional outlook from someone who doesn’t know me.

All in all, this was definitely the positive boost I needed! ❤

