Reading Without Walls

I’m well over two months late to this challenge, but as I always like to say, better late than never!

Recently, I found out about the #ReadingWithoutWalls challenge from one of my favorite authors, Marissa Meyer.

The challenge was brought on by Gene Luen Yang, who worked on AVATAR: THE LAST AIRBENDER! Can you feel my excitement?

Anyways, you can see the original page here: http://read.macmillan.com/mcpg/reading-without-walls/

A few days ago I finished A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi, and have since found myself in limbo. Ya know, that phase where you read a book and can’t get passed it. So, I figured this would be a great way to get out of my fog and my comfort zone.

Hopefully it will also help with the fact that I sent part of my manuscript to a few beta’s. I can read while I wait for feedback and hopefully wipe away some of my nerves.

Anyways, like Marissa Meyer, I figured I’d share my three picks for the challenge.
1. Read a book about a character who doesn’t look like you or live like you.

So yesterday I wandered into the YA section at work and found: Geekerella, by Ashley Poston. I’ve never heard of Ashley Poston, but I’m always interested in a fresh take on a fairy tale. In light of BookCon in NYC this weekend, I decided to check it out.

While I am a fan of cosplay, I’ve never entered a cosplay contest. And based on the cover of the book I look nothing like Elle who is apparently white with bright red hair. She also has an evil stepmother and has to work to escape her home. No evil stepmother and I’m content at home at the moment.

 

Geekerella

 

 

2. Read a book about a topic you don’t know much about.

For this book I chose: The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music, by Victor L. Wooten

Reasoning: I work part-time for a music school. A few weeks ago, two of the teachers there suggested this book. They said its about music, but reads like a novel.

What I hope to learn: I’m hoping I learn more about music, and gain some inspiration and momentum on playing the guitar and singing.

I’m also hoping it will help me with my manuscript, because the main character is supposed to be a musician who has lost her way.

 

The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music

 

3. Read a book in a format that you don’t normally read for fun.

I’ve decided to read: Impulse by Ellen Hopkins.

Ellen Hopkins came to my library last May. I had never read any of her books until the week before her visit. I wanted to read at least one, because I didn’t want to see her and not know of her work. I also really wanted to see her, because I hoped she would give me the inspiration to write; I hoped to see someone who wrote and did it for a living.

I only made it through the very first novel, Crank, which was amazing. I’ve never read a fiction book written in poetry before. However, since reading Crank I haven’t gone back to her work. It’s not because it wasn’t good. Crank was phenomenal. But that style of writing is not one I read often. So this feels like the perfect opportunity to jump back into the world of Ellen Hopkins.

 

Impulse (Impulse, #1)

 

Again, I know I’m late to the challenge. But, back in January one of my favorite fitness instructors, Cassey Ho or Blogilates started the 28-Day Reset Challenge. From January 2nd to January 29th she cut out dairy, gluten, added sugar, processed food, and alcohol (I failed that part of the challenge the first week. Don’t judge. There was a snow storm). It was an amazing challenge. That combined with working out helped me lose ten pounds in the two weeks.

Then she decided to host the challenge again in February, because why not? Just because a challenge is hosted during a month like NANOWRIMO or April for Poetry Month, doesn’t mean you can’t challenge yourself to do those things during other months. So, with that in mind, I’m off to try the #ReadingWithoutWalls challenge!

Did you take the #ReadingWithoutWalls challenge back in April?  How did it go? What did you read? Will you do it again? Please let me know in the comments!

Thanks!

-Myah

